Blogfest Day 3: Lesson Learned


This post is part of Blogfest 2012 sponsored by my school. Everyday this week there will be a new post with a different theme.

To start off, I thought I’d post a video from one of my favorite bands that has a lot to do with today’s theme.

One of my most important learning moments this past year was actually the result of a school assignment. (Learning at college? Who knew?!) All kidding aside, by taking a journalism last semester I confirmed what it is I would like to do for the rest of my life: be a music journalist. For anyone who read my New Year’s Edition blog post, you know what I’m talking about.

Over the course of the semester, we were required to write three different articles. The final one I chose to write was a newspaper style article on a local metal band by the name of My Missing Half.  Even though it took some effort to set aside time for interviews and travel to gigs, I had a lot of fun writing the piece. By doing this assignment I made a connection with a band that I can (and hope to) work with again in the future. I also got first hand experience of what being a music journalist might be like. I eventually sent it off to The Boston Phoenix to see if I could get it published.

Whether or not my article gets accepted remains to be seen, but I’m glad that I had the opportunity to find out if I really wanted to pursue a career in music journalism.

How did you discover/confirm what you wanted to do in your life?

-Melissa

~ by metalosophy on March 21, 2012.

What's your take on it?

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

