What I’ve Learned So Far


This week I am part of an event at my school known as Blogfest. Each day of the week I will post something that relates to the daily theme. Today is the first in the series and the theme is learning. I thought I’d share some things that I have learned by keeping this blog:

1. The first step towards any dream may seem daunting, but once you take it, you realize just how much you can accomplish.

When I first considered starting a blog, it was because it seemed like a good way to practice writing. Additionally when I go out looking for jobs in journalism, I can use my blog to show my devotion to the subject of metal and can give my potential employers examples of my writing. It took me about a month to actually get my blog started. All winter break I thought about it. I didn’t know anything about blogging and the thought of starting such a project seemed a little scary. Eventually I told myself there’s no better time than the present and thus set my plans in motion. Once I started, I felt accomplished and was happy that I was on my way to achieving my dream! As Robert Plant once sang in “Going to California”,  I was “Standing on a hill in the mountain of my dreams, telling myself it’s not as hard, hard, hard as it seems”.

2. You will never know if you will enjoy something unless you give it an honest try.

Initially, I was hesitant to start a blog because I wasn’t sure I’d enjoy it as much as writing in say, my diary. I have tried to keep online journal type blogs before but I usually gave up after a while because they didn’t seem to have a purpose. This time I vowed to give myself a sense of direction and to actually attempt to keep up with it. Of course, I may not get to post everyday (or lately every week) due to my enrollment in 6 classes and an honors program but I find that I actually enjoy blogging about my passion.

3. Patience is key.

Alright, I’ll be the first to admit that it’s cliche. Having said that, it really is an essential part of blogging. I may not get 70 viewers daily, but I’m happy that I am working towards something that has the potential to be great and that I am improving my writing skills. I feel very lucky to already have 5 subscribers and a deal with another website seeing how I haven’t had this blog for too long and I have only made 9 posts. I have faith that my blog will grow in its own way and that all I need to do is continue to write with dedication and get it out there. As the famous Guns ‘N’ Roses song goes: “All we need is just a little patience.”

~ by metalosophy on March 21, 2011.

2 Responses to “What I’ve Learned So Far”

  1. Thanks for participating in the Blogfest event! Looking forward to a great week of reading your work!

  2. Hi I am checking in from Blogfest. I love your post hope to read more…

What's your take on it?

 
