The Unexpected “View”


This week Lou Reed and Metallica released the first single–“The View”– from their upcoming album, Lulu. It is available for download from iTunes. The full album is being released worldwide on October 31st and on November 1st in North America.

The track isn’t what one would usually expect from a Metallica song but the listener can tell it’s them and their heavy presence is felt. Reed sings primarily but Hetfield has his own parts which balances it out more. From a lyrical standpoint it sounds like classic, artistic Reed.

There has been a mainly negative response with listeners saying it’s boring or just plain terrible. In short, many are upset that it doesn’t sound like a Lou Reed song or a Metallica song. I happen to like the song. While it’s not one of my favorites by either artist, it accomplishes what they set out to do. They wanted to do something different and unexpected which is exactly what they’ve done here.

What do you think of the new single? I would love to hear your opinion in the comments.

-Melissa

~ by metalosophy on September 29, 2011.

8 Responses to “The Unexpected “View””

  1. I think the whole problem with this project, besides the fact that this song isn’t really that good, is that both Metallica and Lou Reed used their star power to promote this album. If they had just collaborated and released this music under a new name it might have been received differently.

    When Metallica releases something with their name on it, people expect a certain kind of metal to go along with it. They should have just called the band Lulu and marketed it as a collaboration with Lou Reed and members of Metallica. I think they went about it the wrong way.

    Any time you have a supergroup collaboration like Transatlantic for example, they market themselves as Transatlantic. You know the heavy hitters involved (Dream Theater, etc…), but you know this is a whole different band before spinning a Transatlantic disc.

    This whole time, people kept hearing “Metallica” and “Lou Reed.” I think fans of either genre were expecting something else. I still don’t care for the song and hope that this isn’t the best they had to offer. I think people wanted to hear Metallica with Lou Reed infused; still heavy, but with a twist.

    • Good point on the name thing. I’m wondering if it had to do with concerns about it selling well. Because it’s not getting great reviews they may have needed to rely on their star power to motivate their fan bases and casual listeners to buy the album. When people don’t recognize a band’s name or don’t know who’s behind it, their less likely to buy the album.

      I guess we won’t see what else the album has to offer until it’s released.

  2. Spot on Plantera.
    They knew they could have put another name behind it and fast enough fans would find out who was on it and it would sell the same. Now they burdened themselves with all the expectations of the project(and already people are calling it St.Anger pt. II) and will soil the Metallica brand even further. I’ve seen plenty of times when buying a supergroup album that the names of the members are on a well displayed sticker on the cover to inform the buyer of whats insided and often the album is placed with the albums of artists other works(the vendor usually just needs to ask “file this with the rest of yadda yadda’s albums” please). I think everyone involved shot themselves in the foot with this one. And the promo song, Jesus Christ on a pogo stick, such, such, such, ummm, I can’t think of anything clever to say :(

    If anything the song made me laugh my ass off. “I AM THE TABLE” is up there with some of ‘Tallica’s greatest lines ever such as “My lifestyle determines my deathstyle” and “Frantic-toc-tic-toc”(both of the most famous Metallica album ;) )

    • Something tells me I’m the only Andy Warhol fan here haha (Lou Reed was involved with him and he would have loved it). Nor do I know much about marketing. Oh well, I’m learning. I guess I’m getting what I deserve haha. At least St. Anger doesn’t look as terrible now.

      • Well, don’t ever apologize for something you like. It’s nice to share opinions openly ;)

        If you have a chance to take a marketing class while you are in school, please do. You will look at things differently when you know the marketing behind it. I thought it was one of the more interesting college classes I ever had to take.

        If you ever go to London, England stop by the Tate Modern. It’s a really cool museum and has lot’s of Warhol stuff there. I dig it…I AM THE FUTON!

        • Oh don’t worry, I still like it and definitely will let those who ask my opinion know it :) I don’t know if they offer such a class at my school; I’ll have to see.

  3. I wouldn’t consider myself an Andy Warhol fan but do think some of his stuff is pretty cool. And on the whole I enjoy Lou Reed, Berlin is one hell of a powerful album and Nico is a real interesting listen. When I listen to the words lyrically, they’re pretty good, it’s the delivery that that catches me strange. I had a good feeling Lou Reed was going to do some spoken word stuff and his delivery here just doesn’t grab me, but in the end it’s not really the spoken word part that turn me off, it’s the the overly repetitious riff and Lars abusing that crash cymbal the entire song. I do have to say Hetfeild’s part does sound really good(I’m now really looking forward to how he will sound on the next Metallica album). I’ll have to agree that they did accomplish something different.
    When the album does come out I’d like to hear your opinion on it, maybe you can open my eyes to something I am not noticing :)

    A couple of weeks ago I came across this really interesting blog series about what goes into the creation of an album from an indie record company’s perspective. It’s worth taking the time to read. I linked Part 5 because it’s easier to get to the rest of the entries from that page, so start from the beginning.
    http://www.invisibleoranges.com/2011/09/anatomy-of-a-release-pt-5-distribution-or-why-cds-cost-so-much/

    Peace Love and Metal!!!!!!!

    • It’s ok to not be a huge Andy Warhol fan like me. I don’t personally know any metal listeners that are. In fact I’ve met a few who are totally against anything non-metal which is too bad. Maybe this is why some Metallica fans are responding negatively. Additionally this may be why Lars doesn’t know what to do with his crash cymbal haha.

      Thanks for the link. I’ll definitely read it when I have the chance =)

What's your take on it?

 
