Back In Black


Ok so if you’ve taken a look at the date of my last post, it’s been a while since I wrote on here. But I’m back. Kind of like how AC/DC came back bigger than ever with Brian Johnson.

I’ve spent the past the past semester making a few re-evaluations in my life. For one, I decided that Bridgewater isn’t the best school for what I want to do and I hope to transfer to UMass Lowell. There are definitely more music related events there (especially metal ones!) and therefore there will be more for me to write about in preparation for becoming a music journalist one day.

I also took my first real journalism class last semester. I think it’s helped me improve my writing style dramatically and I’m very proud of the work I did. We made websites with our articles and here’s the link to mine: http://metalosophy.weebly.com/. One of the articles I did was a profile on a local metal band called My Missing Half that I know through a mutual friend. They’re a great group of guys and are definitely worth checking out. My goal is to send it in to a magazine¬†and get it published but first I have to change the fact that they’ve recently found a drummer (sorry to anyone who wants to join after reading the article). Perhaps the most important thing about the article is that it helped me realize that I definitely want to write about music whether it’s on My Missing Half or Metallica.

I also realized that my original goal to post once a week may not always be possible since I have a lot on my plate. Instead I have changed my goal to posting at LEAST five times a month; that way I can space out my posts if I’m having a particularly crazy week. If I feel like I can do more, then I’ll increase that number. That’s the closest thing I have to a New Year’s Resolution.

Happy New Year to all of my wonderful readers and thanks for sticking with me

-Melissa

~ by metalosophy on December 30, 2011.

3 Responses to “Back In Black”

  1. Hey, glad to have you back in action. I hope everything works out for you changing schools. I know it can be a bit of a setback with the coursework, but if it will help you in the long run it makes it all worth it. I look forward to reading your future posts and good luck with your article submission. Please let us know so we can check it out and show our support.

  2. I haven’t heard back just yet but I’m pretty sure most of my courses will be accepted since I didn’t take anything too fancy. I’ll definitely let you know about the article.

  3. […] what it is I would like to do for the rest of my life: be a music journalist. For anyone who read my New Year’s Edition blog post, you know what I’m talking […]

What's your take on it?

 
