Mayhem 2012 Lineup Announced!


Mayhem 2012 is here! (metalinsider.net)

Anthrax. Slayer. Slipknot. As I Lay Dying. Four bands that are on my must see list. Four bands that will be making an appearance at the 2012 Mayhem Festival this summer.

I’m sort of annoyed that Anthrax isn’t on the main stage though. They deserve that respect. They’re of the same caliber as Slayer and part of the Big Four. I’m sure more than a few of the bands on the tour have been inspired by them in some way. The main stage will consist of Slipknot, Slayer, and a special third guest that will be announced on March 5th. The bands that play the fourth slot on the mainstage are going to vary by show; the choices being As I Lay Dying, The Devil Wears Prada, and Asking Alexandria. I  hope we get As I Lay Dying at the Massachusetts show. If I don’t see the goregeous Nick Hipa, I may cry.

The three bands rotating in the fourth slot will play in rotation on the Jagermister stage. This stage will feature a headlining set by Anthrax. According to the site, there is also an unnamed opener for this stage.

I don’t really care for Asking Alexandria or The Devil Wears Prada but I’m sure my sister will be thrilled to see them. I’ve only heard of Whitechapel and I’ve never heard of High on Fire. I guess that means I have some listening to do before August 5th.

For anyone who is looking to go to the show, tickets are going on sale April 6th. The full list of dates can be found on the Mayhem Festival’s Official Website.

Here’s hoping the weather won’t be as brutal as last year and that I’ll get to see them all

-Melissa

~ by metalosophy on January 25, 2012.

4 Responses to “Mayhem 2012 Lineup Announced!”

  1. That’s a pretty good lineup so far based on Slipknot, Slayer, and Anthrax. I am not too keen on the young pups of the generation (Asking Alexandria), but I would still get a ticket. Slayer is pretty intense live; seen them about 9 times. Anthrax has a lot of energy and I never saw Slipknnot. I would be sold on that tour. I did see Whitechapel before and through the screaming they had lots of booming bass. Not like dance bass, but just a ton of bass that I thought was going to shake the venue to its foundation. Hopefully, there will be some stronger bands to help with the rest of the days festivities.

    • Slipknot is the favorite band of one of my friends and he told me about their shows. Apparently some members like to do crazy things on stage like hang upside down. I would also rank Corey Taylor as one of the most talented metal vocalist. As you know by now, I love the Big Four so I was excited to see two of them will be playing. Sounds like Whitechapel will be a fun/loud band to see. Good thing I’ll be wearing earplugs! I’m very eager to learn who the final mainstage band will be.

  2. Not a bad line up. Anthrax, Slayer, and As I Lay Dying are worth price admission alone. I’m not too keen on Slipknot, but do have to say they put on a great live show.
    Whitechapel is alright if you dig ‘deathcore’. If you’re not into stuff like Devil Wears Prada, you may want to pass.
    High on Fire on the other hand is an awesome band, tons of great sludgy riffs. Think Motorhead slowed down with a lot more bass. I’ve seen them about 5 times and they kill every show. I had a beer with singer/guitarist Matt Pike and the drummer, they’re some cool dudes.

    • Deathcore can be alright sometimes but it’s definitely not my favorite brand of metal.
      I can hear very clearly that there is a Motorhead influence on High on Fire. It looks like I’ll be enjoying their set. Thanks for posting the video!

What's your take on it?

 
