Blogfest 2012: Over a Year at Metalosophy


This post is part of Blogfest 2012 sponsored by my school. Everyday this week there will be a new post with a different theme.

I can’t believe I’ve had this blog for over a year. That being said, I’ve definitely learned a year’s worth of blogging lessons. I started this blog to hone my writing skills, have something to show possible employers after I graduate, to have fun, and to meet others like me. So far, so good. I’ll share some the top 5 things I’ve learned for those wondering if blogging is for them:

1. Link to websites where you get inspiration from, websites you enjoy reading and think your audience will enjoy, and other blogs you’ve built connections with.  Many blogs will be happy to do the same and sometimes websites will contact you wanting to feature your writing!

2. Coming together with fellow bloggers to write a special post is really cool. You can read my last post for example. Matt from A Metal State of Mind contacted me asking me to work with him, his blog partner, and two guys from another blog that I had not known of before. By contributing to the special post, my circle of connections grew and I learned how to work with others over the internet to create something awesome.

3. Make sure you have some form of contact available. This is essential for my first two tips. One of the websites that featured my writing contacted me by Twitter. The other website and the bloggers for the special post communicated with me by e-mail.

4. Keep an open mind. People are going to have differing opinions but that’s part of what’s so great about blogs. You essentially pick the topic to write about/discuss and then invite others to comment. A good example is when I voiced my approval of the Lou Reed/ Metallica side project. Although my audience did not agree, they were respectful about it and they directed me towards other articles that expanded my knowledge. Starting a blog just to tell everyone else they’re wrong would be pointless and uninteresting.

5. Maintaining a blog can sometimes be challenging when you’re in college, working, involved in extra curricular activities, etc. It isn’t always easy to carve out time for my blog. You need to set goals and try to accomplish them. You may not always meet them but it’s a lot more rewarding than giving up completely.

~ by metalosophy on March 19, 2012.

2 Responses to “Blogfest 2012: Over a Year at Metalosophy”

  1. Congrats on your year of blogging. It is tough work. You start out thinking it will be easy, but it can be quite a lot of work epsecially if you want to post regularly. You do get to meet great people and get exposed to new things. I hope you have another great year of blogging. I look forward to reading your posts.

What's your take on it?

 
